Slight errata for damage taken in combat
A slight point of errata on when damage is taken during combat:
Under point 2b in the combat instructions, I should have written: WP can be flipped to FR before or after a die has been rolled but damage is taken by the loser the instant that both combatants have rolled.
I have 6WP and a fight starts. I have no special weapons or equipment.
My enemies are two Radioactive Pigs each with 1D/+1. I roll 1D for the WP of Pig#1 and it gets 4WP. Pig#2 gets 2WP.
I am nervous about the fight and so decide to flip one of my WP to FR for the bonus before we even start the fight, hoping to do as much damage as I can in the first round. Thus, I am on 5WP/1FR.
Following the combat steps in the instructions:
I roll initiative. I get 5. The Pigs get 2. I won initiative and so will be rolling my combat dice last for the entire fight (which is good) because it means I get to see what their roll is before deciding to flip any of my counters.
Combat Round 1 starts
Me: 5WP / 1FR
I fight Pig#1. They roll (3+1)=4. I decide to leave my counters as they are, and roll my die. I have one FR so I roll (4+2)=6. Comparing the rolls, 6-4 is 2 so Pig#1 takes 2 damage!
I fight Pig#2. They roll (6+1)=7. This looks bad! I am nervous and decide I need help and I flip another WP to FR, putting me at 4WP/2FR. I roll my die. I have 2 FR so I roll (2+4)=6. Terrible luck! Pig#2 has won this round. 7-6=1 so I take 1 damage. I am at 3WP/2FR.
Combat Round 1 is over. At this point, I discard all FR, leaving me with 3WP.
Combat Round 2 starts.
I fight Pig#1. They roll (2+1)=3. I roll (5+0)=5. I won this round, and 5-3=2 so Pig#1 takes 2 points of damage and is dead.
I fight Pig#2. They roll (6+1)=7. This pig is really fucking me up and I realise I could die if I roll badly. I decide to flip another WP to FR, putting me at 2WP/1FR. I am taking a chance, but I realise the risk. I roll (6+2)=8. I won and 8-7=1 so Pig#2 takes 1 damage, It's still not dead!
Combat Round 2 is over. At this point, I discard all FR, leaving me with just 2WP.
Combat Round 3 starts.
I fight Pig#2. They roll (2+1)=3. I'm confident, that is quite low, and I don't think I can afford to flip another WP to FR, it is too risky. I roll (3+0)=3. Aaarggh! It is a tie! At this point, I could decide to flip another WP to FR to get the +2, and break the tie. However, I am low on WP, and I decide not to break the tie.
Combat Round 3 is over. There are no FR for me to discard.
Combat Round 4 starts.
I fight Pig#2. They roll (1+1)=2. THIS time I must surely win. I roll (4+0)=4. I won! 4-2=2 so Pig#2 takes 2 damage and is dead. The fight is over. It cost me a lot of damage!
Get Revenge of the Foaming Mutant
Leave a comment
Log in with itch.io to leave a comment.